Go Back   ITalkCash.com - Forum for financial investments > Investments And Other Money Making Methods > E-Currency - E-Gold, E-Bullion, PayPal, Epassporte etc
Forum Register Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

MB scam?? - e-currency

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2008, 07:40 AM
Learning Investor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
Default MB scam??

I have recieved a mail in my spam mail box. it is from an account created on moneybookers.com it says the i have recieved ---Euros. But i havent created Mb account on that Id. Do anyone have any idea about it!!!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 11:55 AM
Hardcore Investor
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 283
Default

Be careful! This is a scam letter 100%. Because e-mails from MB aren't recognized as Spam mails like e-mails other big companies or organizations (Yahoo, Microsoft, Paypal), which means your letter is not actually from MB.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 12:38 PM
Learning Investor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
Default

When i try to reply that message. the mailto adress was "no_reply@moneybookers.com"
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 09:26 PM
Superior Investor
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hyips-Rank.Com
Posts: 641
Send a message via MSN to AzeAzeAze Send a message via Yahoo to AzeAzeAze Send a message via Skype™ to AzeAzeAze
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberways View Post
When i try to reply that message. the mailto adress was "no_reply@moneybookers.com"
this is a FAKE tip ! however you see the mail comes from moneybookers, it´s not, because this is only a php mailer script, allow you to enter the email which you want to appear in the sender mail ! so do not try to reply, or you can contact them about this spam issue !
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 04:24 PM
id62000's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 919
Exclamation Yes, it's a scam mail.

The mail you recieved was a phsihing e-mail/scam cyberways. This has happened before to people who have MB accounts as well.
I quote the following experience:

Quote:
One day, I was checking my GMail email accounts and noticed one particular email titled "MoneyBookers: Money Received". At first, I thought: "If I've received money in my MB account, how come they're sending me an email on GMail? As far as I can remember, my MoneyBookers account was opened with an Yahoo! email account.." Then I quickly realized that the email is just another scam. How?

1. My MoneyBookers account was opened with an Yahoo! email account, not with a GMail account
2. When I hovered my mouse pointer over the links included in the email, I saw that the real URL wasn't the MB official website, but something like this: http://64.345.23.123 ( bla bla bla )

So, as you can see, this clearly was a scam email..and a very cheap one. But what exactly "MoneyBookers staff" wanted from me? Well, they wanted to tell them some personal data, so they can confirm the fact that I've received the money ( about 200 or 300 dollars ). The truth is that the real MoneyBookers staff will never going to ask you for such things, because once you become their user, you're already verified. They will send you a secret code, in an envelope, via a courier that will arrive in your mailbox. All you have to do next is to type that code inside your REAL MoneyBookers account, so you can confirm that your postal address is valid. Once you do that, you are granted full rights to use your MB account. Of course, they will notify you if you receive money, but won't going to ask you to re-verify your account. Plus, if they'll need to contact you, they'll send you an email on the email address that was used to open the account, and not on other addresses ( as they aren't interested in how many email addresses you have and what providers you use ).

I haven't sent any data or haven't follow any links given by the scammers in the email. I think that I still have those messages in my "Spam" folder, in one of my GMail accounts. I should contact the real MoneyBookers staff and let them know about this thing, so they can take action or do something to prevent their users of being scammed. In the meantime, I advise you to be careful when receiving suspicious emails. DO NOT give your private data to anyone, DO NOT follow any unknown links and DO NOT rush in to "claim your prizes"! Be safe!
__________________
Never share your den with a fox cleverer than yourself.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 05:18 PM
Upcoming Investor
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 31
Default

No Actually, the same has happened to me couple of months ago actually there must be some user who has created his/her MB account by typing your Email add they might got paid and you received the notification.. it happened with me on PayPal
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Lotto Premium Bonds Book hotel room.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0